Skip navigation

18 packs, 4 cards per pack
Set completion: 57 out of 90 (63%)

With the cards I had from this set prior to purchasing the box, I now stand at 67 out of 90 (74%) base cards. That’s not a huge success rate as far as set building!

“Hits”
Captured on Canvas (advertised insertion rate: 1:18)
Daisuke Matsuzaka (RC)
Kevin Youkilis
Todd Helton

Strokes of Genius (advertised insertion rate: 1:6)
Michael Bourn (RC)

I ended up with three GU and one AU, rather than the advertised odds of one GU and three AU. Works for me; I’d rather have the GU cards anyway. Getting a Dice-K GU was a bonus too.

Parallels
2007 UD Masterpieces 34 Troy Tulowitzki Blue Steel 22/50
2007 UD Masterpieces 70 David Wright Pinot Red 38/75
2007 UD Masterpieces 2 Babe Ruth Windsor Green
2007 UD Masterpieces 3 Bobby Thomson Windsor Green
2007 UD Masterpieces 18 Reggie Jackson Windsor Green
2007 UD Masterpieces 21 Walter Johnson Windsor Green
2007 UD Masterpieces 86 2004 World Series Champions Windsor Green
2007 UD Masterpieces MP9 Jered Weaver Box Topper

The Wright parallel looked nice, but I really find myself frustrated more often than not when it comes to parallels. I don’t want them, and they’re taking up space in my packs that could be used for base cards that I want.

I still love the look of these cards, and I’m just a trade away from completing the set. Kudos to Upper Deck for doing such a small, manageable, easier to collect set. It’s a shame that they had to go and ruin this year’s Masterpieces by adding 30 pointless short-prints to it.

Leave a Reply

